#1: Hot Dog King (CLOSED)

For my very first entry I visited the newest place in town, Hot Dog King.  This little hot dog joint caught my eye a few weeks ago when I drove past it on my way to the airport.  At the time I didn’t realize they weren’t even open yet.  Last friday I stopped by while scouting other restaurants for The Map and the owner told me they’d be opening this monday.

There were no other customers while I was there, and it was very quiet.  No music was playing, and a TV on the wall was not on.  Both of these things were probably just due to the fact that they had just opened the day before and they aren’t hooked up yet.

Hot Dog King has all the usual hot dog items you would expect to see on the menu as well as a selection of hamburgers and a few desserts like shakes and ice cream.  I went with a chili cheese dog and a Dr. Pepper.  It seems like a silly thing to mention but they had that small chopped ice – which I like for some reason over cubes.

The chili cheese dog was a small and simple hands on type with a good cheese to chili to cheese ratio.  It was pretty good and not too messy.  I’m not usually big on finger food that’s messy.  It’s hard not to compare it to the chili cheese dog from Parkers that I typically get, which is an enormous plate of chili and cheese with a hot dog and bun hiding underneath like a Super Sloppy Double Dare obstacle course.  But to be fair this one was about half the price if not less.  I spent just over 5 bucks for the chili cheese dog and drink, and they had Dr. Pepper! Parkers does not, so that’s a point for Hot Dog King in my book.

I definitely would like to revisit this place in the future as they get more established, try one of their shakes, and have another hot dog.

yelp_logo

One thought on “#1: Hot Dog King (CLOSED)

  1. I’m beginning a project called “Reading Through ‘Eating Through Roseville,'” in which I read the entirety of this website and try to leave comments that aren’t annoying and pointless, such as this one.

Leave a Reply

