#240: Buck & Sadie’s Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew

ETR 240 Buck & Sadies Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew 001 2016-05-03 17-33-19

A quick way to exhaust one’s dining out budget for the month is a short visit to New York City, which is partially why it’s been a little quiet here for a couple weeks!  New month, new budget, so back to work!ETR 240 Buck & Sadies Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew 002 2016-05-03 18-38-12

Tonight my grandmother and I tried out one of Roseville’s newest restaurants, Buck & Sadie’s Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew.  They opened just last month in the old Fresh Choice location on Douglas at Rocky Ridge.  I’ve been waiting for this one for quite a while since I first heard about it last year.  They took their time, and it shows because it’s a very nice place inside!

ETR 240 Buck & Sadies Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew 003 2016-05-03 17-43-19 ETR 240 Buck & Sadies Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew 005 2016-05-03 18-37-27

Outside they have a small patio under the shade of the vine-covered pergola.  Inside, you have a walk down to the counter where you place your order, get a number and take a seat wherever.  The place is decked out with wood and warm colors.  I love the vintage incandescent lights hanging throughout the dining room. Off to the right when you enter is a bar serving a pretty wide selection of beer and also wine.

ETR 240 Buck & Sadies Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew 004 2016-05-03 17-43-09

Click for full size!
Click for full size!

As the name suggests, the focus here is burgers and wings.  We didn’t have wings today but I really want to come back and try them out, the Sriracha Honey sauce is calling my name.  They also have a selection of small bites such as potato cheese balls, mini deep fried pretzels and truffle french fries (yum!).

ETR 240 Buck & Sadies Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew 006 2016-05-03 17-46-43

We each ordered a burger.  She went with The Shroomy (grilled mushrooms and onions, lettuce, tomato, jack cheese & Shanty sauce)[$8.99] and I The Inferno (pepper jack cheese, grilled smoked jalapeños, battered onion strips and Mama’s sauce).  I got a fountain drink and she got a 16oz Coors Light (jokingly labeled “House Water” as the style).

ETR 240 Buck & Sadies Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew 007 2016-05-03 17-58-24

Our order took just under 10 minutes to prepare and was brought out to the table.  The beer came shortly after as it was apparently missed at the bar when the order first went in.  Soda’s were via two brand new Coke Freestyle machines.  These split the ice and soda dispensing into two outputs (probably a good revision since a lot of people always appear to be confused by the older version every time I came across one).

ETR 240 Buck & Sadies Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew 008 2016-05-03 17-52-49

Both burgers were dressed nicely with a little pickle on top and served with crispy golden fries.  The fries were excellent!  They appeared lightly beer battered and did not need any ketchup; a sign of an excellent french fry in my book.

ETR 240 Buck & Sadies Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew 010 2016-05-03 17-53-34 ETR 240 Buck & Sadies Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew 009 2016-05-03 17-53-16

I usually would set aside a pickle when it comes on top of the bun like this, but it was so small I just popped it in one bite.  This was surprisingly delicious!  It had a very cider-like flavor to it.  The burgers are cooked medium (more like medium-well I would say since there was no pink inside).

ETR 240 Buck & Sadies Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew 013 2016-05-03 17-55-53 ETR 240 Buck & Sadies Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew 011 2016-05-03 17-54-43

I probably should have picked a different one for my first burger here because the jalapeños were very hot and flavorful, much like what I recently experienced at Moo Moo’s Burger Barn in Rocklin.  They must also keep them in a spicy brine.  They hugely dominated the flavor of the entire burger.  Overall it was good though.  The jack cheese was nice and melted and the onions added a little crisp texture to it.  The bun, which I believe they bake in-house, was fantastic!  It was buttery soft and relatively thin, yet held together throughout the entire meal without a problem.

ETR 240 Buck & Sadies Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew 012 2016-05-03 17-55-02

For dessert they have house-made frozen custard ice cream in shakes, root beer floats or scoops, or on top of a warm brownie.  Several toppings are available as well.  I love frozen custard, so I had to try it out.  Being a purist I stuck with a single scoop in a cup with no toppings.  I’m not sure why, but frozen custard is exceedingly difficult to find in the Sacramento area (if you know of it somewhere, let me know in the comments below!).  Anytime I visit Texas, Reno or the Bay Area (all places I’ve found amazing custards) I have to have it.  This custard was not quite the same as the kinds I love.  It was more of an ice cream texture, albeit a bit heavier and smoother.  Despite that, the vanilla flavor was incredible.  Definitely some of the best vanilla I’ve had in a while.  I will absolutely be trying a root beer float when I return for wings!

ETR 240 Buck & Sadies Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew 014 2016-05-03 18-17-31

Overall, a very good new spot in town and in a great location.  Great, friendly service, food and beer selection.

UPDATE:  I ended up stopping in for lunch the next weekend and had the Sriracha Honey wings, truffle fries and a root beer float.  All were great!

 

7 thoughts on “#240: Buck & Sadie’s Angus Burgers, Wings & Brew

  1. Good review. I haven’t had frozen custard but just this morning read a bulletin from the City of Roseville stating that a business called “Rita’s Ice-Custard-Happiness” will be opening at 960 Sunrise Avenue in Roseville. I’m not sure if it’s what you’re looking for.

  2. So, does this establishment replace the Pieology pizza place that was in the same vicinity? And, tell me more about the burgers…there are so many places that serve them in Roseville that I am getting more selective. Are the burgers fresh or frozen? And, what size is the burger? Frozen custard made right is much better than any ice cream or gelato I have ever had. I really miss Culver’s in TX!!

    1. Buck & Sadies and Pieology are right next door to each other. Unfortunately I have no idea if the beef is frozen or not. I would say they are medium, maybe medium-small as far as size goes. Not huge, but with the fries you should be satisfied. Maybe have a little room for dessert! Everyone is saying RIta’s for frozen custard, and they even announced a new location at Sunrise and Cirby coming soon. I’ll probably get impatient and go to the one in Rocklin before then though 😉

Leave a Reply

