#165: Jimboy’s Tacos

ETR 165 Jimboy's Tacos 001 2013-11-10 13-51-22

Today was Jimboy’s Tacos for lunch.  This fast Mexican food chain is a Sacramento area native.  Here in Roseville we have three to choose from.  One across from the Galleria next door to Starbucks, one on Sunrise at Cirby across from Bel Air, and the one I went to on Douglas, on the East end of the Hobby Lobby shopping center.  It has been brought to my attention that there is a fourth, albeit micro-sized Jimboy’s, over by Denio’s at the corner of Vineyard and Atkinson.  That one is apparently only open when Denio’s is.  I don’t eat at Jimboy’s too often, but it usually hits the spot when I do crave it.

It’s apparently been quite a long time since I visited this one in Roseville, because they’ve undergone a significant remodel and expansion, probably quintupling their capacity.  In the first interior photo below you can see nearly the entire extent of their previous dining room, a few small tables and a counter along the window.  This was a bit of a shock to me when I walked in.  The counter is a little longer and less cramped as a result, and the fountain soda machine is now accessible by the customer around the corner.  Behind the counter, their menu is now two big, bright LCD monitors.

ETR 165 Jimboy's Tacos 002 2013-11-10 14-25-49

ETR 165 Jimboy's Tacos 003 2013-11-10 14-25-29

I have almost always ordered just their standard ground beef taco, and taquitos on rare occasions. They have a good sized menu with lots to choose from, and I had never really studied it until now.  For instance, I had no idea they had burgers.  Enchiladas, tostadas, quesadillas, taco salads and burritos are some of their options, and of course they are most well known for their tacos.  Today I decided for some variety in photos I would try some of the other tacos they have.  I still ordered a single Ground Beef Taco [$1.89].  I picked out the Carnitas Taco [$2.59] and the Fish Taco [$2.99].  As I approached the counter I noticed a sign for their classic bean & cheese burrito on special for $1.49 so I added one of those to check it out.  With a large soda [$1.99] my total came to $11.77 after tax.  The cashier repeated my order for correctness and took my name.

ETR 165 Jimboy's Tacos 004 2013-11-10 13-58-21

I filled my soda up around the corner and headed towards the back where I found a publicly accessible rear entrance and a bit more light which was coming in through that glass door.  The rest of the dining room was somewhat dark overall.  The overhang of the roof in front blocks a lot of sunlight from making it’s way in.  My food took about ten minutes, after which I faintly heard my name called out from up front.  Although my order was for dine in it had been bagged up for take out.  I asked for a tray and took it back to my seat.  It was bagged up well, inside I found a box to keep everything oriented upright, which is nice if you actually do take it out.

ETR 165 Jimboy's Tacos 005 2013-11-10 14-07-14

ETR 165 Jimboy's Tacos 006 2013-11-10 14-07-48

First up was my ground beef taco.  If you’ve never had a Jimboy’s taco before, the thing that’s unique about them is the Parmesan cheese which they sprinkle onto one side.  I’ve heard of it done here and there but Jimboy’s is the only place I’ve actually seen it, and it’s pretty tasty.  Inside is simply ground beef, melted cheese and lettuce.  This was actually one of the better tacos I’ve ever had from Jimboy’s.  Many times I find the taco shell to be kind of limp, this one had some crunch to it.  It was hot throughout and had a good amount of beef inside.

ETR 165 Jimboy's Tacos 007 2013-11-10 14-08-59

ETR 165 Jimboy's Tacos 008 2013-11-10 14-09-21

Next up I tried the fish taco.  This had a little wedge of lime sitting inside the taco itself.  There was a fresh salsa on top and some sort of cabbage slaw, similar to most fish tacos I’ve had.  When I opened it up to get a better look inside I was surprised at the size of the fish, it was easily double what I was expecting.  This was very good!  The white fish was nicely fried crisp.  I tend to like most fish tacos, and this was no exception.  I’m almost certainly going to be adding this to my usual order in the future.

ETR 165 Jimboy's Tacos 009 2013-11-10 14-11-49

ETR 165 Jimboy's Tacos 010 2013-11-10 14-12-12

The carnitas taco was a little smaller than the others.  It did not have the massive fish or the filler lettuce.  Instead it consisted of pork and what I think was cilantro.  Like the fish taco it also came with a lemon wedge.  The Parmesan was inside of this one.  I normally am not a fan of cilantro as I feel it can overwhelm anything it’s put in, but I really didn’t taste any at all.  The carnitas was front and center and was pretty rich in flavor.  A little piece here and there was crisp.  Overall it was very tender and juicy.  This was also excellent and something I would consider adding to my future orders.

ETR 165 Jimboy's Tacos 011 2013-11-10 14-15-36

ETR 165 Jimboy's Tacos 012 2013-11-10 14-15-57

The bean and cheese burrito was exactly what it says it is.  There didn’t seem to be any sauce or additional ingredients that I could identify.  It was simply a tortilla with refried beans and cheese inside, rolled up and lightly grilled on the top and bottom.  It was about 7″ long and a little skinnier than, say, a Taco Bell burrito.  It held together well and was pretty good for what it was.  I’m normally not much of a burrito guy, but this was a nice way to satisfy that last bit of hunger.

ETR 165 Jimboy's Tacos 013 2013-11-10 14-18-20

Honestly I didn’t expect a whole lot form the other items I ordered.  I like my ground beef tacos, and have for years, but this visit really showed me that Jimboy’s has a lot more to offer that’s worth trying out.  I’m far more likely now to experiment even more the next time I go.  This was very enjoyable, and well priced for the amount of food I got.

Website: http://jimboystacos.com/

Leave a Reply

