Posted by: Sean Carter | November 20, 2011

#20: Milo’s Cheesesteaks & Gyros

I have a confession to make, I had my first ever cheesesteak just a month ago.  I have no idea why it took so long.  I wasn’t avoiding them, it just didn’t happen.  My introduction to this awesome sandwich was at Grand Central Grill in Rancho Cordova.  It was incredible.  Now, I move on to my next cheesesteak at Milo’s Cheesesteaks & Gyros.

Milo's Cheesesteak & Gyros Exterior

This little shop is located at Foothills and Pleasant Grove in the same shopping center as Los Cabos Grill.  The dining area is quite small, maybe 8 tables total on the inside and a couple outside.  They were empty when I arrived but 3 families with children had arrived before I left and it started to get a little cramped.

Milo's Cheesesteak & Gyros Dining Room

When I walked in I wasn’t sure if I should get a cheesesteak or a gyro.  I considered getting one of each, but it was a good thing I didn’t because I ended up leaving stuffed with the cheesesteak combo and dessert as was.  They have a good selection of cheesesteaks on the menu (I scanned a copy of it here, they don’t seem to have a website).  Instead of the basic “model” I chose the Steak Da Works (grilled onions, bell peppers, mushrooms, hot cherry peppers and cheese) and made it a combo by adding fries and a soda.  Right before I paid I noticed a display of baklava on the counter and ordered one of those as well.

Milo's Cheesesteak & Gyros Cheesesteak & fries

The cashier was very friendly and helped a couple families rearrange some tables so they could sit together.  My food was brought out in just about 5 minutes.  It was a bit lopsided, most of the cheesesteak innards were on one side, but altogether it was a good sized sandwich.  The fries were very hot and were a bit crunchy (which I love). They had a very light seasoning that I could see.  They were great with and without ketchup.

Milo's Cheesesteak & Gyros Fries

The cheesesteak was excellent.  It was hot and steaming when it arrived.  Every ingredient was flavorful and fresh.  The hot cherry peppers added a heat that was intense, but not in a way that compromised the flavor.  If you like hot/spicy food I highly recommend this cheesesteak.  You get the heat and can still enjoy everything else it has to offer.  The only thing I would say can be improved here is possibly a bit more cheese.

Milo's Cheesesteak & Gyros Cheesesteak

I was feeling close to full but my baklava was still waiting for me.  It was a sticky, flaky, delicious little thing with a strong honey flavor.  These aren’t on the menu which makes me think they just make a small batch and when they’re out, they’re out. So get one!

Milo's Cheesesteak & Gyros Baklava 1

Milo's Cheesesteak & Gyros Baklava 2

I was really happy with this visit and I intend on returning to go the gyro route.  I’ve only ever had gyros at Daphne’s, and I’m sure a place like Milo’s could blow them away if given the chance.

See this and more from me at:

Milo's Cheesteaks & Gyros on Urbanspoon

Responses

  1. ooh – they have felafel on the menu! Definitely going to have to try this Milo’s (which I think must be related to the Rocklin Milo’s on Granite drive)(good fries, cheesesteak and gyro, too)(but no felafel)

    • I think you’re right. There’s also a Milo’s Greek place in the Galleria, but I don’t think they are related. It was very confusing!

  2. I love the Gyros at Milo’s, it would be nice to see a review and possibly a comparo from other establishments.


Leave a Reply

Categories

